How Many Countries in Asia?

How Many Countries in Asia?
As the largest continent in the world, the continent of Asia has 48 countries within its borders that are recognized by the United Nations. There are 5 additional dependent or unrecognized territories that are within the Asia continent as well which include Taiwan, Palestine, Hong Kong, and Macau among others.

Dividing Lines of Asia

The continent of Asia borders 3 other continents which can make defining its area difficult. Asia’s western border runs along the Ural Mountains, Caspian Sea, and Ural River separating it from the continent of Europe. Its southern border is marked by the Caucasus Mountains and the Black Sea. The line that separates Africa from Asia is generally understood to be the Suez Canal. The division between the continent of Australia (Oceania) and Asia is often disputed but is often described as the line between Java and New Guinea. The border in the north is defined by the Arctic Ocean in the North and the Pacific Ocean in the East.

The countries of Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Russia and Turkey all have portions of their countries that fall within the continents of both Asia and Europe.

List of Countries in Asia

Asia Countries Capital City Population
China Beijing 1,373,239,923
India New Delhi 1,290,193,422
Indonesia Jakarta 248,645,008
Pakistan Islamabad 190,291,129
Bangladesh Dhaka 158,039,000
Russia Moscow 142,517,670
Japan Tokyo 127,368,088
Philippines Manila 103,224,000
Vietnam Hanoi 91,519,289
Turkey Ankara 79,749,461
Iran Tehran 78,868,711
Thailand Bangkok 67,091,089
Myanmar Naypyidaw 54,584,650
South Korea Seoul 50,004,441
Iraq Baghdad 36,129,225
Saudi Arabia Riyadh 31,534,504
Malaysia Kuala Lumpur 31,179,952
Afghanistan Kabul 30,419,928
Nepal Kathmandu 29,890,686
Uzbekistan Tashkent 28,394,180
Yemen Sana’a 24,771,809
North Korea Pyongyang 24,589,122
Taiwan* Taipei 23,455,000
Syria Damascus 22,530,746
Sri Lanka Colombo 21,481,334
Kazakhstan Astana 17,522,010
Cambodia Phnom Penh 15,052,665
Azerbaijan Baku 9,493,600
Israel Jerusalem 8,502,900
Tajikistan Dushanbe 7,768,385
Hong Kong* Victoria City 7,299,000
Laos Vientiane 6,586,266
Jordan Amman 6,508,887
Singapore Singapore 5,535,000
Kyrgyzstan Bishkek 5,496,737
United Arab Emirates Abu Dhabi 5,314,317
Turkmenistan Ashgabat 5,054,828
Palestine* East Jerusalem 4,683,000
Georgia Tbilisi 4,570,934
Kuwait Kuwait City 4,146,314
Lebanon Beirut 4,140,289
Mongolia Ulaanbaatar 3,179,997
Oman Muscat 3,090,150
Armenia Yerevan 2,970,495
Qatar Doha 1,951,591
Bahrain Manama 1,248,348
East Timor Dili 1,143,667
Cyprus Nicosia 1,099,341
Bhutan Thimphu 766,896
Macau* n/a 641,000
Brunei Bandar Seri Begawan 428,786
Maldives Malé 394,451
Total 4,494,302,221

*Represents Dependent Territories or Partially Unrecognized States

The countries of China and India are by far the largest in both economic terms and population in Asia but also the entire world. Keep in mind that the countries that represent the continent of Asia are always changing. Like any large geopolitical landscape, new countries are always in the making and old ones are breaking apart. This means that any country list of Asia is outdated nearly as soon as it is documented. But, we will do our best to keep this list updated with the changing number of countries in Asia!