How Many Countries in Australia?

How Many Countries in AustraliaThe continent of Australia is the smallest of the seven continents. Australia is also referred to as Oceania and in conjunction with Zealandia. Experts are heavily studying this area of the world and the definitions on the countries and areas that define it are changing rapidly. Currently, there are 3 confirmed countries that divide the continent of Australia. It consists of the country of Australia by the same name, New Zealand, and Papua New Guinea. There many additional small nations, territories, and islands around the continent that extend to comprise Oceania such as the Melanesian, Polynesian, and Micronesian islands which can be found in the South Pacific Ocean.

Dividing Lines of the Australian Continent

The Australian continent is entirely surrounded by water. To the East and Northeast, the Indian Ocean surrounds the continent. To the West and Northwest, the Pacific Ocean does the same. In the south, the Southern Ocean surrounds Australia and New Zealand.

List of Countries in Australia

Countries of Australia Capital City Population
Australia Sydney 24,255,949
New Zealand Auckland 4,727,459
Papua New Guinea Port Moresby 7,321,589
Total   36,304,997

Due to the constantly changing names, definitions, and research being done in this area we will make every effort to keep this page updated. We expect that many new pieces of information will come up each year that fundamentally change the understanding we have of the continent of Australia and the region known as Oceania!